Sunday, May 15, 2016

Finishing Up The Grownup & Starting This Census-Taker

All I can think right now is "what did I just read". I honestly could not even finish this short story. I got halfway through and could not read anymore. I am so disappointed. I loved Sharp Objects, Dark Places, and Gone Girl but this one I did not like at all. 

Book Club Questions About The Grownup:

1. If you have read Sharp Objects, Dark Places, or Gone Girl how do you think The Grownup compared? 

2. Did you enjoy this short read and wish it would of been longer? Or like me did you just want it to end?

3. If Gillian Flynn were to offer another short story would you be interested in reading it? 
Our next book is This Census-Taker by China MiĆ©ville. We will be starting it Monday May 16th and ending Wednesday June 1st. 

Synopsis From Goodreads: For readers of George Saunders, Kelly Link, and Karen Russell,This Census Taker is the poignant and uncanny new novella from award-winning and bestselling author China MiĆ©ville. After witnessing a profoundly traumatic event, a boy is left alone in a remote house on a hilltop with his increasingly deranged parent. When a stranger knocks on his door, the boy senses that his days of isolation are over—but by what authority does this man keep the meticulous records he carries? Is he the boy’s friend? His enemy? Or something altogether other?

Lets Get Reading! 

Sunday, May 8, 2016

Finishing Up Confess & Starting The Grownup

I thought that Confess was a very sweet book. I usually don't really enjoy romance books but Confess was great. I really enjoyed reading it and wondering what was going to happen next. And when I finished Confess it just felt like all the puzzle pieces finally fell into place. It was a great read. 

What did you think of Confess? Were you happy with the way it ended? Were you sad that it was over? 
Our next book is The Grownup by Gillian Flynn.  We will be starting it Monday May 9th and ending it on Monday May 16th. 

Synopsis From Goodreads:'I watched the house. It watched me back through long, baleful windows so tall a child could stand in the sill. And one was. I could see the length of his thin body: gray trousers, black sweater, a maroon tie perfectly knotted at the neck. A thicket of dark hair covering his eyes...'
A young woman is making a living faking it as a cut-price psychic (with some illegal softcore sex work on the side). She makes a decent wage mostly by telling people what they want to hear. But then she meets Susan Burke.
Susan moved to the city one year ago with her husband and 15-year-old stepson Miles. They live in a modern Victorian house called Carter Hook Manor. Susan has become convinced that some malevolent spirit is inhabiting their home. The young woman doesn't believe in exorcism or the supernatural. However when she enters the house for the first time, she begins to feel it too, as if the very house is watching her, waiting, biding its time..
Lets Get Reading!